Recent Reviews

Our reviews are designed to help families make a more informed decision when choosing holiday accommodation. On this page you will find a selection of reviews. If you are after a specific location, use the menu of the left side of the page.


Kyneton: Laurimar Glen Farmstay (sleeps up to 6)

Reviewed By: The Green Family
Stayed: 1/05/2015
Stayed With: two children, aged 10 and 12

Absolutely fantastic - the kids had an absolute ball. They got to feed pigs, deer, llama, horses, chickens and sheep. They played with the dog and ferrets and collected fresh eggs for brekkie and lunch.

The accommodation was country cottage and very relaxing. We stayed in Glen Cottage, very close to the deer and llama. This made the stay even more authentic (but if you don't like early rising, this may not be the cottage for you and the ones across the road may be better). The night sky was beautiful with all the stars and it felt like you could touch them.

Farmer Eric loves his animals and many have names and give great cuddles.

Janet's museums and history and knowledge adds to the stay and is worth a visit around the historic blue stone houses. The cottages are very clean, well equipped for a self catering holiday.

The town is max 7 mins drive, with 2 supermarkets and many cafes, take out or restaurants - some the best in Melbourne. Kyneton has much history to tell and both Eric and Janet can provide information on this too.

This was a very relaxing holiday and kids can't stop talking about it. Janet and Eric are hosts are fabulous and nothing is too much trouble - you can also buy eggs to take home.

Really recommend this, but stress you need to be kind to the animals and respectful this is a working farm which adds to the experience but sometimes you can't go into a paddock for your own safety but Farmer Eric tells you.

Very up close and personal holiday would recommend 2-3 nights to get the full experience.

Kids comments: It was fantastic we got to ride in a trailer, feed aminals, pat a llama and collect eggs which mum cooked for brekkie - it was awesome. Farmer Eric and Nanna Jan are the best ever we want to go back.


Rhyll: 14 The Moorings

Reviewed By: Anne from Oakleigh
Stayed: 1/12/2015
Stayed With: 4 adults and 3 children aged 6, 5 & 2

Set in the relaxed town of Rhyll, 14 The Moorings is a wonderfully peaceful spot.

The house is well equipped and very comfortable. It is two-storey, but a stair guard was available.

It's just across the road from the beach and jetty (where we hooked a few fish), and minutes walk from local eateries.

Waking up to this stunning view is just wonderful.

It's just a short drive from Cowes and other island attractions.

Kid's Comments: I caught a fish from the pier across the road! I liked sleeping on the top bunk and watching TV in our bedroom.


Huonville region: Rivers Edge Wilderness Camping & RV

Reviewed By: Lindsay & Robyn
Stayed: 1/11/2015
Stayed With: Family dog

What an absolute beautiful surprise to find such a tranquil oasis. Huge sites, spotless facilities, lovely hosts, we even saw the shy platypus not once but several times & spotted quail. Went for one night stayed for three, thanks for the experience.


Trinity Beach: On the Beach Holiday Apartments

Reviewed By: Family Friendly Accommodation
Stayed: 1/11/2015
Stayed With: 2 adults, 2 children aged 10 & 13 years

On a recent holiday to FNQ and the Great Barrier Reef, I took the opportunity to book a few nights at On the Beach Holiday Apartments at Trinity Beach to check out this complex for myself - and check out it did!

On the Beach actually consists of five apartment buildings. We stayed in a two-bedroom beachfront apartment in the Seashells building, which offered undercover parking and lift access.

Our first floor apartment was extremely spacious - you know you are onto a good thing when the kids give their seal of approval after checking everything out.

The full size kitchen allowed for easy self-catering, while the tiled dining/lounge area had plenty of space to spread out. The balcony offered another option for sitting outside, with views out to sea.

The master bedroom was comfortable and nicely furnished, with a wall-mounted TV giving me the opportunity to catch up on the news while the kids were watching the main TV in the lounge room.

Single beds in the second bedroom kept the kids happy, while two bathrooms (the main one also housed the washing machine and dryer) are always welcomed by families.

Each building in the complex has its own swimming pool with lounge chairs and as usual, my kids gave our pool a good work-out.

While Mother Nature was not on our side for our visit, with strong winds whipping up the sea, there is no doubt that Trinity Beach is a bit of a hidden treasure and On the Beach is perfectly located opposite the patrolled beach.

There are plenty of places to eat along the Esplanade, including an Italian cafe/restaurant just metres down the road. But equally, there is a small shopping centre with a supermarket to buy your provisions just a couple of minutes' drive away.

Melissa is a font of local knowledge and will help you with tourist information and bookings.

Whether you are looking for somewhere close to Cairn's attractions to stay a few nights, or as a spacious and comfortable base for an extended family holiday in Far North Queensland, On the Beach Apartments at Trinity Beach is a great place to stay.

Note: This accommodation was independently booked and fully paid for. Views are my own.


Flinders Ranges: Horseshoe Rim Wilderness Cabin (sleeps up to 10)

Reviewed By: Burman Family
Stayed: 1/10/2015
Stayed With: 2 adults, a 2 children aged 9 and 7 years

Words can't express just how much we enjoyed our first holiday in the Flinders. The accommodation was great and everything was so clean and tidy. The shower, stove/grill/oven and fridge were all easy to use and worked a treat.

The beds were all comfortable and the boys were so excited sleeping on the top bunks. Masters 9 and 7 loved exploring around the cabin, finding lots of bugs, lizards and interesting things.

For Bryan and I, the privacy and the incredible surroundings were the highlight. Beauty everywhere and always something else still to discover.

The Horseshoe Rim Adventure 4WD Track was AMAZING!!! The track itself was fantastic, challenging in parts but so much fun! We saw lots of kangaroos, eagles, bearded dragons, stumpy tails and emus. The wildflowers were super pretty too and the views! We were all amazed at the 360 degree views. I took so many beautiful photos. Jack's Track was fun too and the boys found the early settlers wooden gate hilarious.

If you're looking for somewhere to stay that's off the grid but not too far from Adelaide, then the Horseshoe Rim Wilderness Cabin is it! Ben & Susan are fantastic hosts and we hope to visit again sometime soon.

Kids comments: Masters 9 and 7 rated highly the bunk beds (there are two, so both could sleep on the top bunk). What they enjoyed most was just exploring around the cabin, finding interesting things & just being kids. Not once did the kids say they were bored!

Kid's Comments: Masters 9 and 7 rated highly the bunk beds (there are two, so both could sleep on the top bunk). What they enjoyed most was just exploring around the cabin, finding interesting things & just being kids. Not once did the kids say they were bored!

Port Fairy: VeeSeas (sleeps up to 10)

Reviewed By: Anne of Oakleigh
Stayed: 1/04/2015
Stayed With: 3 kids aged 6, 4 and 1, plus 4 adults

What a wonderfully relaxing location. The house had everything the kids, parents and grandparents could need. Fantastic outdoor play equipment,boxes of toys indoors and a parents retreat upstairs!

A coffee machine was an added bonus in the kitchen!

A minute's walk to the Southern rockpool beach and a short drive to Port Fairy and the Eastern beach.

Warrnambool was a 20 minute drive away,

It's such a peaceful location, fields opposite the house and the beach with crashing surf behind.

Kids comments - I loved the swings, slide and cubby house. We built some awesome lego houses. The bunk bed was so much fun.

Extra baby features: a high chair, cot and pram available


Geelong: Rose Garden Motel (sleeps up to 5 + cot)

Reviewed By: Family Friendly Accommodation
Stayed: 1/01/2015
Stayed With: one adult, two children aged 11 & 9

When researching a family getaway, it can be tempting to stay away from motels. While some give us good reason for that, there are others who think outside the square and are set up to welcome families.

We discovered such a motel in Geelong over the summer school holidays. We wanted to visit a school friend in Barwon Heads and decided it would be fun to spend a night rather than drive back to Melbourne.

Accommodation on the Bellarine Peninsula was expensive and many places had two night minimums. So I looked at Geelong and found the Rose Garden Motel at Belmont (the Peninsula side of Geelong). And what a great find it was!

Where do I start – well, with a lovely, warm welcome from the Manager, Helen. This is a place where they care about their property and their guests – and it comes across.

The gardens are lovely. There is a fenced swimming pool within a larger grassed area, onto which our room opened up. This is perfect for families, as it essentially offers a backyard with a playground and bbq too.

Inside, our room had a king bed and a single (with hubby back in Melbourne, I shared my bed with Miss 9). There was also a table and chairs, where we ate our take-away dinner and breakfast in comfort.

What was great about this motel room is that it had a small kitchenette with a sink, microwave, toaster, crockery and cutlery (including a peeler!) which allowed us to eat in to the room.

Breakfast can be ordered and is delivered through the old fashioned motel food delivery door, which fascinated my daughter. But it is also a short drive to Belmont with some restaurants, take-away shops and supermarkets for any provisions.

Other little extras included Free WIFI, free DVDs and a small range of snacks and drinks to purchase from reception (including beer and wine). And there was air freshener in the toilet – how welcome is that to a small family sharing one bathroom.

And we got all this for just $149 for the night in the peak summer period.

The Rose Garden Motel also has 2 family rooms which can sleep up to 5. These are set up with as a main king size room, with an attached room with 3 single beds. There is also another TV in this room.

So, if you are looking for a great affordable option on the Bellarine Peninsula - maybe somewhere to spend the night after an exhausting day at Adventure Park – I recommend you check out the Rose Garden Hotel. And say hi to Helen.

PRICES AND AVAILABILITY: If you are interested in staying at the Rose Garden Motel Belmont, contact them direct or through you preferred booking website.


Rainbow Beach: Rainbow Getaway Holiday Apartments (sleeps up to 6)

Reviewed By: Family Friendly Accommodation
Stayed: 1/10/2014
Stayed With: two adults, two children, aged 12 & 9

Rainbow Beach Getaway Holiday Apartments - our review:

Having left the crowds of school holiday Noosa, Rainbow Beach was a balm for the soul – and Rainbow Getaway Holiday Apartments was a great place for us to spend the next 4 days.

Rainbow Beach is a small coastal town, surrounded by the Great Sandy National Park. Although it has become a popular destination for backpackers to access Fraser Island, this place is perfect for a family holiday too.

Given its small size, there is a fair amount of accommodation to choose from. At just $170 a night (3 night minimum) for a two-bedroom apartment in the peak September school holidays, I think Rainbow Getaway was great value for money.

Apartments are built within 3 story, rounded A-frame buildings. Our two-storey apartment was accessed via outside steps to Level 1. The living area was on this level, with a balcony overlooking a grassed area, across to the pool.

Although not the largest living space we'd experienced on our holiday, it was more than sufficient and very comfortable, with a large lounge, dining table and kitchen. The main bathroom, with laundry facilities, was also on this level, as was the main bedroom and ensuite.

Upstairs I found to be quite quirky with large (but not tall cupboards) that the kids loved hiding in! There were two single beds. But what was extra special about up here (and something which families would appreciate), was the small sitting room with another television and small couch.

For families with younger children, I understand stair gates can be provided for those with small children.

Outside, this complex earns its family friendly stripes – with a small playground, sandpit and swimming pool. There are grassed areas and a couple of well-kept barbecue huts, which were well utilised.

In terms of location, this accommodation is a short walk into town – but just across the road from the Rainbow Beach Sport Club, where we ended up for dinner two nights. Nice food at a reasonable price.

A shopping strip, with a small supermarket, Indian restaurant and fish and chip shop is also a couple of minutes' walk away.

The manager was also very friendly and able to offer us a range of information on what to do in the area - including potential fishing spots for hubby!

If you are after quality accommodation at a very affordable rate in Rainbow Beach, I would recommend checking out Rainbow Getaway. We were definitely happy with our choice here.

PRICES AND AVAILABILITY: If you are interested in staying at the Rainbow Getaway Holiday Apartments, contact them direct or through you preferred booking website.

Note: Our accommodation was independently booked and paid for. Views are my own.


Noosa: Cloud Nine Noosa

Reviewed By: Lisa from Funch
Stayed: 1/11/2014
Stayed With: two adults, two children aged 7 & 8

Our family has stayed at Cloud Nine Apartments 3 times now (and have booked for a fourth). My parents and sister and her family also stay here.

Noosa is renowned for it's high priced accommodation, but Cloud Nine bucks the trend. It's reasonably priced (we spend between $200 and $250 per night off-peak) but with all the luxury, service and facilities any family could want on their holiday.

There are only 7 apartments in total at Cloud Nine. Our apartment of choice is Apartment 4. This is the only apartment that has not been fully renovated, but the kitchen has been nicely done. The bathrooms, which are enormous (one with a spa bath) are also tastefully done, with everything working and spotlessly clean.

There are 3 bedrooms, the main bedroom is enormous with access to the large balcony overlooking Noosa Parade and Noosa River beyond. Perfect for evening drinks before wandering the 600 metres (easy stroll even with kids) in to Hastings Street for dinner. There is also a bus stop just outside Cloud Nine that takes you in to Hastings Street, Noosa Junction and beyond.

The apartment has a mezzanine level which is great for kids - ours take all their gadgets and books, etc up there and have their own little space.

Cloud Nine recently updated the pool area. Although it was fine before (and yes, it's heated...one of the few in Noosa), it now has all new paving, fencing and lounges (and there are plenty).

It's such a lovely pool area, with a grassy shaded area to retreat to in the afternoons, after a morning at the beach whilst the kids continue to play in the pool. The area is private and so inviting. There is also a new BBQ, which is always spotless.

Colin, the Manager of Cloud Nine is helpful and approachable, nothing is ever too much trouble. He's friendly and always there to help, but without ever intruding on your holiday. Colin has managed Cloud Nine since we started going there and it's always great to see him.

I cannot recommend Cloud Nine Luxury Apartments enough. To have found accommodation that is affordable but with the amount of luxury you deserve on your holiday is quite refreshing.

PRICES AND AVAILABILITY: If you are interested in staying at Cloud Nine Noosa, contact them direct or through you preferred booking website.

Lisa is the co-founder of Funch, make-at-home superfood snacks. The protein power balls and snack bars come as a dry mix - just add a couple of wet ingredients to create healthy snacks for the whole family.


Noosa: Offshore Noosa Resort

Reviewed By: Family Friendly Accommodation
Stayed: 1/09/2014
Stayed With: two adults, two children, aged 12 & 9

Offshore Noosa Resort review:

Walking into our apartment at Offshore Noosa Resort was one of those wow moments. Even hubby, who tends to go with the flow when it comes to holiday accommodation, was impressed.

Located in the quieter area of Noosaville, Offshore Noosa Resort has a really nice feel. This low-level complex features apartments around a central pool and bbq area in a tropical setting. Secure, undercover parking is provided.

On arriving, manager Leanne immediately made us feel at home and Miss 9 was given a bag of plastic beach toys which was hers to keep for the duration of our stay.

Our two-bedroom apartment was located on Level 1 and felt like a home. The furnishings were clean and comfortable and artworks gave the main living area character. I also loved the plantation shutter sliding doors.

The main kitchen/dining/living area was one of the largest I have seen. The kitchen quite modern with all the crockery and cutlery needed for a family meal.

The lounge was comfortable, but with a large balcony to relax on, it was really only the kids who used it when they were watching TV. Not that this happened often, as just a few steps away is the gorgeous resort pool.

I loved this area and being a relatively small complex, the pool was never crowded (something which I saw at a well-known brand name complex in which my friends were staying in Noosa at the same time as us).

Back inside our apartment, the main bedroom was large, comfortable and nicely furnished, with an ensuite bathroom and wall-mounted TV. The second room had two single beds and the main bathroom had a bath, as well as a washing machine and dryer.

We really enjoyed this family friendly apartment complex. While you will need to drive to the Noosa beach, we found Noosaville to be a lovely quieter location in a peak holiday period. There were several restaurants and cafes in walking distance and a morning walk along the river was lovely.

Note: Our accommodation was independently booked and paid for. Views are my own.


Return to the home page.